Mayor's Young Leader Awards

Share this page:

Nominations Are Now Closed

The Mayor's Young Leader Awards highlight the outstanding achievements of young professionals (ages 40 and under) who live or work in Colorado Springs. Six individuals will be recognized for extraordinary efforts in their field while also making a positive impact on our community. 

Nominations for the 2020 awards will be accepted beginning Aug. 5 and must be submitted by Aug. 28. Finalists will be notified in September, and the winners will be announced during an award ceremony on Thursday, Oct. 22 from 4-6 p.m. The location will be announced at a later date.

Finalists Anounced

The Mayor's Office has announced its finalists for the seventh annual Mayor’s Young Leader Awards. Of the nominees, 30 finalists have emerged across the six award categories. The finalists, who all live or work in Colorado Springs, are as follows:

Community and Economic Impact

  • Mattie Gullixson, National Cybersecurity Center
  • Justin Hermes, Re/Max Properties
  • Crystal LaTier, El Paso County
  • Jessie Pocock, Inside Out Youth Services
  • David Siegel, Bee Vradenberg Foundation

Creative Industry

  • Amy Berg, U.S. Air Force Academy
  • Corey Hutchins, Colorado College
  • David Jackson, CaveSim
  • Mehal Jivan, Tuscany Wine, Spirits, + Craft
  • Lauren McKenzie, REN Creativ


  • Nichole Exum, Harrison School District 2
  • Carole Frye, Colorado Springs School District 11
  • Jennifer Kling, University of Colorado Colorado Springs (UCCS)
  • Nicole Schurbon, Harrison School District 2
  • Zek Valkyrie, University of Colorado Colorado Springs (UCCS)

Military Leader

  • Airman 1st Class Katelyn M. Kingrey, U.S. Air Force
  • Tech. Sgt. Jarad Allen Underwood, U.S. Air Force
  • Lt. Col. Jeremiah Betz, U.S. Air Force Academy
  • Tech Sgt. Jeremy Parks, U.S. Air Force
  • Tech. Sgt. William J. Wailgum III, U.S. Air Force

Sports and Wellness

  • Jessica Beecham, WE Fit Wellness
  • Timothy Corner, Man 2 Machine
  • Harrison Hunter, Fountain Fort Carson High School / Northwestern Mutual
  • Jeff Venable, Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance of Colorado Springs
  • Nicole Weis, University of Colorado Colorado Springs (UCCS)

Technology and Sustainability

  • Csilla Brimer, Open Economy Initiative
  • Joshua Chism, Colorado Springs School District 11
  • Rodney Gullatte Jr., Firma IT Solutions & Services
  • Russell Long, Long Capture
  • Sean Tucker, U.S. Air Force Academy



To sponsor or for more information on sponsorship, please contact Donna Nelson at